Thoughts on Heaven

Several summers ago – working my first ever camp job – I had a camper ask me once during Bible study if I thought pets got into Heaven.  At the time I wasn’t sure how to answer.  I ended up telling her the truth as I understood it at the time.  No – pets don’t get into Heaven.  Heaven is for people who follow Jesus. 

I think I’ve been kicking myself for such a stupid answer ever since.

Maybe it wasn’t a stupid answer at the time…I think I truly believed in my answer.  But, I realize how depressing the answer was…and how potentially damaging it could’ve been to that girl’s faith. 
I admit, I’m not sure even who the girl is now…I’m not sure if she’s remained committed to her faith…I just don’t know.

One thing I do know…my answer has changed in the 8 years since I gave that answer.

Over the past several days I’ve started diving into the book of Revelation.  Not the depressing book I used to think it was.  It’s quite full of hope and AMAZING imagery…I have to say.  It’s quickly – at least the first five chapters – becoming a favorite of mine!! 
Images of the throne room of Heaven – of a Christ coming to conquer – of constant praise and worship of the One True King!

And it got me thinking…about Heaven…about what it’s really going to be like…

I guess like so many people – my images of Heaven have been pretty ambiguous.  Clouds…angels…a mansion maybe…people dressed in white…

But I think even that’s changing a little….

Each of the four living creatures had six wings and was covered with eyes all around, even under his wings.  Day and night they never stop staying:
“Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty who was, and is, and is to come.”
Whenever the living creatures give glory, honor, and thanks to him who sits on the throne and who lives for ever and ever, the twenty-four elders fall down before him who sits on the throne, and worship him who lives for ever and ever.  They lay their crowns before the throne and say:
“You are worthy, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power, for you created all things, and by your will they were created and have their being.” Revelation 4: 8-11

Then I looked and heard the voice of many angels, numbering thousands upon thousands, and ten thousand times ten thousand.  They encircled the throne and the living creatures and the elders.  In a loud voice they sang:
“Worthy is the Lame, who was slain, to receive power and wealth and wisdom and strength and oner and glory and praise!” Revelation 5: 11-13

In this passage, John gives us a visual of the throne room of God – we get an idea of what it will be like –
continual worship…a torrent of praise with the angels!!
How wonderful it’ll be…I can’t even begin to imagine how thrilling it’ll be to sit at the feet of God and just marvel!!  I mean, there’s this genuine WOW factor when it comes to the image John is presenting in this passage.  I mean, first we see the thrones…the lampstands…the elders all robed and crowned…and then these creature..with the head of a lion, an eagle, a man, and a bull…and they’re covered in eyes…flying before the throne of God constantly…ceaslessly singing “Holy, Holy, Holy!”

You know, in one of the sermons I listened to on these verses the pastor said this – worship is simple…it’s just telling God the truth about himself…it’s just telling God how wonderful He is…
and it’s all over the Psalms…we’re not the only ones worshipping when we sing…
all of nature is singing in accord with the angels – the waves are crashing, the wind is howling, the trees are waving their hands, the very ROCKS will cry out if we are silenced!!  It’s all in there…

I guess what I’m really getting around to…
If all these things are giving praise to God now….what’s to keep them from giving praise to Him in Heaven??  If Heaven is an eternal worship session…an eternal choir of praise to God – and if the very rocks cry out in worship…what’s to say they won’t be in Heaven, too??

So – sure…dogs…cats…pets…
Heaven…I think…will be the perfection of this world.  No more will the oceans breach their shores, causing destruction and death.  No longer with the grounds quake and roll.  No longer will the winds rise up and destroy in anger…
The oceans will rise up in praise – the winds will howl in worship…
and God will finally get His due!!

And….Christ will welcome His faithful home!!  THAT’S what I think Heaven will be…

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, worship

Leave a comment